Trap Eater

Trap EaterWith the rise of “Little City” decks since the 5-0 performance by Jung-Ho Ahn during Yu-Gi-Oh! World Championships 2008, it is not surprising that every side deck is now packing 2-3 copies of Trap Eater.

Although Trap Eater is able to take out both Royal Oppression and Skill Drain, there are still some continuous traps that Trap Eater is unable to remove due to the game mechanics.

The first up would be Macro Cosmos.

Q:《マクロコスモス》をコストに特殊召喚する事は出来ますか?
A:《マクロコスモス》の効果で墓地に送る事ができないためできません。(08/11/17)

Q: Is it possible to Special Summon by sending Macro Cosmos as cost?
A: Macro Cosmos‘ effect would prevent cards from being sent to the grave, hence it is not possible. (17th November 2008)

Q:《マクロコスモス》を墓地に送り《トラップ・イーター》を特殊召喚できますか?
A:できません。(09/08/15)

Q: Is it possible to Special Summon Trap Eater by sending Macro Cosmos to the graveyard?
A: It is not possible. (15th August 2009)

The above is taken from 《マクロコスモス》 -遊戯王カードWiki.

Next up would be both Rivalry of Warlords and Gozen Match, under certain situation.

ただ、悪魔族以外のモンスターと《群雄割拠》が場にある場合のみは《群雄割拠》を除去した上での特殊召喚はできない。
《群雄割拠》は「フィールドにいる種族以外のモンスターを召喚しようとすること自体ができない」からである。
よって《群雄割拠》を墓地に送ることも特殊召喚の一連の動作になるためそれ自体ができなくなるのだ。
採用率が低いとはいえ、同様の理由で《御前試合》と共にコストにされない場合のある永続罠である。

Simply, when there is a non-Fiend monster and Rivalry of Warlords on the field, it is not possible to remove Rivalry of Warlords for the special summon.
Due to Rivalry of Warlords, it is not possible to special summon itself (Trap Eater) which is of another type than the one on the field.
Therefore, it is not possible to perform the series of actions of special summoning by sending Rivalry of Warlords to the grave.
Though the chances are low, for similar reason, Gozen Match is another permanent trap which cannot be used as the cost under those situation.

The above ruling (in strikeout) is no longer applied. Below is the current updated ruling for Trap Eater.

Q:相手フィールド上に《群雄割拠》、自分フィールド上に悪魔族以外のモンスターが表側表示で存在する時、相手フィールド上の《群雄割拠》を墓地に送って《トラップ・イーター》を特殊召喚できますか?
A:はい、可能です。(09/07/09)

Q: On opponent’s field is Rivalry of Warlords, when there is a non-Fiend monster on my field, is it possible to Special Summon Trap Eater by sending the Rivalry of Warlords on opponent’s field to the graveyard?
A: Yes, it is possible. (9th July 2009)

The above is taken from 《トラップ・イーター》 -遊戯王カードWiki.

Advertisements

1 Response to “Trap Eater”



  1. 1 Ruling Update: Rivalry of Warlords « 決闘者の読書 Trackback on August 28, 2009 at 2:30 am
Comments are currently closed.



Blog Stats

  • 210,786 hits