Effects that Target

Recently there’s been a strange play going on: players are saying that upon the activation of a Spell/Trap card, once the target has been chosen, that Spell/Trap card can no longer be negated by a Counter Trap.

This is a misunderstanding of the game mechanics.

Going back to the basics:

Effects that Target
Effects that require you to select 1 or more specific cards when
activated “target” the selected cards. Players can then decide if
they want to respond once they know the target of the effect.
A
card that affects all cards or all of one kind of card does not target.
An effect that requires players to make a selection when the effect
is resolving also does not target.

Taken from Official English Rulebook V7.0.

As stated above, target(s) is/are selected upon activation of the card. After having the target(s) declared, players can then decide whether they would want to respond to that effect (maybe with a Counter Trap), or pass and allow that effect to resolve.

The following statement from 対象をとる(指定する)効果 -遊戯王カードWiki supports this stand as well:

効果発動時に目標を選択し、その後にチェーンを積むタイミングが訪れる。
従って相手から見て、「何に対して」効果を発動したのかがわかった後、対処できるカードで妨害するか決めることが出来る効果である。
例えば《サイクロン》などの場合、相手がどのカードを破壊するのかを確認した後に、カウンター罠などで妨害するかどうか決める事ができる。

When an effect is activated the target(s) is/are chosen, after that it will be accumulated in the Chain.
From your opponent’s point of view, after knowing the “target(s)” of the effect activated, it is possible to decide whether or not to deal with the card by interfering its effect.
For example in the situation of Mystical Space Typhoon, after confirming which card that opponent is going to destroy, it is possible to decide whether or not to interfere with a Counter Trap.

Advertisements

1 Response to “Effects that Target”



  1. 1 Ruling Update: Rivalry of Warlords « 決闘者の読書 Trackback on August 28, 2009 at 1:28 am
Comments are currently closed.



Blog Stats

  • 210,786 hits