Blackwing – Vayu the Emblem of Honor

Blackwing - Vayu the Emblem of HonorAs we are nearing the end of this ban/restriction list, the Japanese metagame is shifting once again; Graveyard Blackwings is giving Synchro Cat a run for their money.

To have a better understanding of the strength and weakness of Graveyard Blackwings, we will be looking at the FAQ of one of its key card: Blackwing – Vayu the Emblem of Honor.


特殊召喚できるシンクロモンスター 対応するBF
《BF-孤高のシルバー・ウィンド》 《BF-アーマード・ウィング》
《BF-アーマード・ウィング》 《BF-漆黒のエルフェン》 or
《BF-アームズ・ウィング》 《BF-暁のシロッコ》

Summary of Synchro Monsters which can be Special Summoned by Blackwing – Vayu the Emblem of Honor‘s effect, and the corresponding Blackwing

Synchro Monsters which can be Special Summoned Corresponding Blackwing
Blackwing – Lone Silver Wind Blackwing Armor Master
Blackwing Armor Master Blackwing – Elphin the Raven or
Blackwing Armed Wing
Blackwing Armed Wing Blackwing – Sirocco the Dawn


Q: What is the classification of its effect?
A: Cannot be used as Synchro Material is a Continuous Effect, Special Summoning of a Synchro Monster is an Ignition Effect. (18th April 2009)


Q: Is removal part of the cost?
A: No, for the Ignition Effect of this card, the removal happens during the resolution of the effect. (18th April 2009)


Q: Does this card target the other Blackwing in the Graveyard?
A: Yes, it does target. (6th May 2009)


Q: During the resolution of this effect, when either this card or the selected Blackwing is no longer in the Graveyard, is the other card removed from game?
A: No, it is not removed, the Special Summon effect is not applied. (12th April 2009)


Q: Is the Special Summon from this card’s effect a Synchro Summon?
A: No, it is not a Sychro Summon. Therefore, monster Special Summoned through this method cannot be revived nor returned (from out of game). (18th April 2009)


Q: When Royal Oppression is used in response to the Ignition Effect of Blackwing – Vayu the Emblem of Honor, are the Synchro Materials cards removed from game?
A: The removal from game happens after the resolution of Blackwing – Vayu the Emblem of Honor‘s effect, in this situation they are not removed from game. (18th April 2009)


Q: Can Royal Oppression be activated in response to the Synchro Monster Special Summoned by the Ignition Effect of Blackwing – Vayu the Emblem of Honor?
A: In that situation due to the missed timing, it is not possible to activate. (18th April 2009)
(Because the Chain Block containing the Special Summon is created by the effect, and not when the “Special Summon is successful”, it is necessary to activate in response to the “Ignition Effect’s chain”.)

The above is taken from 《BF-大旆のヴァーユ》 -遊戯王カードWiki.


1 Response to “Blackwing – Vayu the Emblem of Honor”

  1. 1 Akira June 24, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    Commenting disabled due to spam.

Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 213,785 hits