Destruction Substitution – Union vs Six Samurai

With the popularity of Machina Gadget and Six Samurai, destruction substitution is becoming a common sight in the form of Machina Gearframe and Legendary Six Samurai – Shi En.

Despite their rather similar effect, the rulings for both are actually quite different.


Machina Gearframe

Machina Gearframe belongs to the new type of Union Monsters, together with Spirit of the Six Samurai and Heavy Mech Support Platform. In addition to being able to substitute destruction for battle destruction, they are able to substitute for effect destruction as well. The FAQ for Machina Gearframe are extrapolated from Heavy Mech Support Platform.


Q: When the “Equipped Monster” and “This card in Equipment Card mode” are destroyed together by “Final Destiny” or “Black Rose Dragon”, what will happen?
A: The equipped monster will remain on the field. (11th December 2010)


Q: When the “Equipped Monster” and “This card in Equipment Card mode” are targeted to be destroyed simultaneously by “Icarus Attack” or “Gladiator Beast Gyzarus”, what will happen?
A: The equipped monster will remain on the field. (25th May 2011)

Source: 《強化支援メカ・ヘビーウェポン》 -遊戯王カードWiki

Legendary Six Samurai – Shi En

Legendary Six Samurai – Shi En, similar to the original Six Samurai monsters, are able to prevent their own destruction by destroy another face-up Six Samurai on the field.

Q.「大将軍 紫炎」や「六武衆」と名のついたモンスターが複数体存在する時に、「激流葬」や「ブラック・ホール」等の効果によってフィールド上に存在する全てのモンスターが破壊される場合、複数の「大将軍 紫炎」等は、『このカードが破壊される場合、代わりにこのカード以外の「六武衆」という名のついたモンスターを破壊する事ができる。』という効果を適用させる事はできますか?
A.フィールド上に表側表示で存在する全ての「大将軍 紫炎」や「六武衆」と名のつくモンスターが破壊される場合、他の「六武衆」と名のついたモンスターを代わりに破壊する事はできません。

Q. While there are multiple and “Great Shogun Shien” and “Six Samurai” monsters are on the field, when all monsters on the field are destroyed by effects like “Torrential Tribute” and “Dark Hole”, etc, can the multiple “Great Shogun Shien” effect of “If this card would be destroyed, you can destroy another “Six Samurai” monster you control instead.” be activated?
A. When all face-up “Great Shogun Shien” and “Six Samurai” monsters are destroyed, is it not possible to substitute by destroying another “Six Samurai” monster.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Reasoning for the difference

Despite the rather similar effects, the biggest difference is that the destruction substitution effect of Union monsters are Mandatory whereas the destruction substitution effect of Six Samurai are Optional.

In the case of Machina Gearframe, although it is destroyed simultaneously by effects such as Black Rose Dragon and Icarus Attack, its Mandatory effect will still resolve, resulting in the protection of the equipped monster, while forcible destroying its already destroyed self.

Six Samurai monsters, on the other hand, are optional effects, and you may not choose to activate it by selecting another destroyed Six Samurai monster.

In conclusion, Union monsters are superior in terms of their destruction substitution ability compared to the Six Samurai monsters. Hence the ruling for Six Samurai should not be used as a basis for the ruling of Union monsters; a rather common argument in the local Singapore community.


4 Responses to “Destruction Substitution – Union vs Six Samurai”

  1. 1 Jia Jie June 1, 2011 at 9:47 am

    about time akira blogposted.

    thanks for the clear up.

  2. 2 tyquaius June 1, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    is this true only for ocg? because the tcg ruling is that substitution effect cannot be used if both the equipped monster and the union monster is destroyed simultaneously.

    The link below cites the TCG Judge forum.

  3. 4 Zzxiaoboizz June 1, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    I dun really think there are lots of machina gadget players, bf is still having higher popularity, the popularity seems to be fading

Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 213,784 hits