Card Activation vs Effect Activation

Despite being a relatively old concept, the difference between Card Activation and Effect Activation for Spell and Trap cards are only being explored recently.

With the increasing amount of negation effects that applies only to Card Activation, there is a need to understand the difference between Card Activation and Effect Activation in order to comprehend the limitation of said negation effects.

Definition
In this article, Card Activation and Effect Activation are both only referencing to Spell and Trap cards.

Card Activation (カードの発動) of a Spell or Trap card refers to the activation of a Spell or Trap card from the Hand or from the Set position on the Spell/Trap Zone.

Effect Activation (効果の発動) of a Spell or Trap card refers to the activation of a face-up Spell or Trap card on the field (i.e. Continuous, Equip or Field), or the activation of a Spell or Trap card that triggers upon meeting some conditions.

Negation Limitations
Counter Traps are limited to negating only Card Activation. They are unable to negate the Effect Activation of Continuous/Equip/Field Spell or Trap cards.

For example, Player A activates Monster Reborn and Player B responses with a Royal Oppression from the Set position on the Spell/Trap Zone. Player A can activate Solemn Judgment as that is considered a Card Activation.

However, if Player B responses with a Royal Oppression that is already face-up on the field, Player A may not response with a Solemn Judgment as that is considered an Effect Activation. Player A on the other hand, may still response with a Trap Stun, as Trap Stun negates the Effect, and not the Activation.

Similarly, Solemn Warning can only negate the activation of Spell and Trap cards that perform a Special Summon on Card Activation. Valhalla, Hall of the Fallen and Infernity Launcher are immune to Solemn Warning as both cards do not perform a Special Summon on Card Activation, but performs a Special Summon on Effect Activation.

Conclusion
Despite being rather similar, Card Activation and Effect Activation are vastly different due to their interaction with effects that negates Card Activation and effects that negates Effect Activation.

Advertisements

6 Responses to “Card Activation vs Effect Activation”


  1. 1 Ken Kuo July 7, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    This is a pretty good read. This article helped me explain rulings to a few people. Thank you.

  2. 2 Child Card Games August 6, 2011 at 2:27 am

    “Solemn Warning can only negate the activation of Spell and Trap cards that perform a Special Summon on Card Activation.”

    This is incorrect. The card, Solemn Warning, does not say it can only negate the activation of the Special Summon effect. It says it can negate the activation of a Spell Card or Trap Card or Monster Effect that INCLUDES AN EFFECT of Special Summoning a Monster(s). It does NOT say that an effect of Special Summoning a Monster(s) has to be ACTIVATED, but merely INCLUDED in the card’s effects upon activation.

    Two questions need only be answered to see if Warning can negate Valhalla when Valhalla is first activated.

    Is Valhalla being activated? Yes.
    Does Valhalla include an effect that Special Summons a Monster(s)? Yes.

    Therefore, according to Warning’s text, it CAN negate Valhalla’s activation.

    It’s that simple. Painfully simple really.

    • 3 Akira August 6, 2011 at 10:27 am

      I agree that your understanding of the word “included” is a valid interpretation in the English language. Unfortunately that is an ambiguity resulted from the translation of Japanese text to English text.

      The Japanese text does state that the Special Summon effect has to be part of the Activation.

  3. 4 ashwin November 4, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    can solemn judgment negate vallahalla after valhall has been on field for 3 turns?

    • 5 Akira November 5, 2011 at 10:19 pm

      Playing Valhalla from your hand or from the set position is a Card Activation.

      Activating Valhalla’s effect while Valhalla is already face-up on the field is an Effect Activation.

      Solemn Judgment can only negate a Card Activation.

  4. 6 Matt Tambor January 29, 2012 at 11:17 am

    Finally I have good proof to show how geartown vs solemn warning works!!


Comments are currently closed.



Blog Stats

  • 210,786 hits