Pot of Duality

Being the most commonly played card currently, with most decks running the maximum of three, Pot of Duality is quickly becoming one of the most misplayed card.

The most common misplay with Pot of Duality is whether a player can or cannot activate this card after a Special Summon was negated. Essentially this article will explain the difference in various Special Summoning negation, using Pot of Duality as the example.

Contractual Effect
Contractual Effect (誓約効果) is an unofficial term to refer to the condition that restricts the usage of a card or effect. For Pot of Duality, both “You can only activate 1 “Pot of Duality” per turn” and “You cannot Special Summon a monster(s) during the turn you activate this card” are Contractual Effects.

Contractual Effect is not an actual effect like Ignition Effect, Trigger Effect, etc. As implied in its name, a Contractual Effect works like a contract. If you activate this card, then you cannot perform the action restricted by the Contractual Effect. Conversely, if you had perform the action restricted by the Contractual Effect (breaking the contract), then you cannot activate the card with said Contractual Effect. Using Pot of Duality as an example, if you activate Pot of Duality this turn, then you cannot cannot Special Summon a monster(s) this turn. Conversely, if you Special Summoned a monster(s) this turn, then you cannot activate Pot of Duality.

An action restricted by the Contractual Effect do not limit you from playing another card with the same Contractual Effect. For example, Soul Exchange and Cards from the Sky have the same Contractual Effect of not allowing the player to conduct his/her Battle Phase this turn. You may play both cards in the same turn.

Since Contractual Effect is not an actual effect, it does not get negated or redirected. Once the card has resolved, the action restricted by the Contractual Effect can no longer be performed.

Activation Negation vs Effect Negation
Activation Negation (発動の無効) means that the card was not activated, and you do not resolve its effect.

Effect Negation (効果の無効) means that the card is activated, and you resolve but do not apply its effect.

If your first Pot of Duality’s activation was negated (i.e. Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV8), then you are considered to have not activated Pot of Duality this turn. You can either activate your second Pot of Duality or perform a Special Summon this turn.

However, if your first Pot of Duality’s effect was negated (i.e. Silent Swordsman LV7), then you are considered to have activated Pot of Duality this turn. Although the effect of Pot of Duality is not applied, the Contractual Effect is still applied. You cannot activate your second Pot of Duality nor perform a Special Summon this turn.

Negation of a Monster Effect that Special Summon
Negation of a Monster Effect comes in the form of Activation Negation and Effect Negation, similar to the Negation of a Spell or Trap.

If the Activation of your Blackwing – Blizzard the Far North’s effect was negated (i.e. Divine Wrath), then you can activate Pot of Duality in the same turn.

However, if the Effect of your Blackwing – Blizzard the Far North’s effect was negated (i.e. Skill Drain), then you cannot activate Pot of Duality in the same turn.

Negation of a Built-In Special Summon
A Built-In Special Summon (also known as Inherent Special Summon) is a Special Summon of an Effect Monster through its own Summoning Condition. A Summoning Condition is not an actual Monster Effect (i.e. Ignition Effect, Trigger Effect, etc), as it does not use the Chain Block.

Examples of Built-In Special Summon:

  • Black Luster Soldier – Envoy of the Beginning
    Summoning Conidtion: Banishing 1 LIGHT and 1 DARK monster in your Graveyard
  • Machina Fortress
    Summoning Condition: Discard Machine-Type monster(s) whose total Levels equal 8 or more
  • Grapha, Dragon God of Dark World
    Summoning Condition: Return 1 face-up “Dark World” monster you control to the hand, except “Grapha, Dragon God of Dark World”

If a Built-In Special Summon was negated, you cannot activate Pot of Duality. This also applies to Contact Fusion Summon, Synchro Summon and Xyz Summon.

Side Note: This was ruled otherwise in the World Championship 2011, as seen in the Semi-Final Game 2.

Conclusion
If the Activation of a Special Summon Effect was negated, you can activate Pot of Duality.

If the Effect of a Special Summon Effect was negated or a Built-In Special Summon was negated, you cannot activate Pot of Duality.

Rulings are from 《強欲で謙虚な壺》 -遊戯王カードWiki, correct as at 1st September 2011.

Advertisements

8 Responses to “Pot of Duality”


  1. 1 James September 18, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Thank you for the heads up! Now I can finally show those dimwits on Dueling Network the actual rulings of Pot of Duality. You have my gratitude for doing this post. Thumbs up!

  2. 2 Saikon October 10, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    Are you sure about the Blizzard thing? A Special Summon was obviously not performed, but I guess you just mirror what the supposedly correct source has said.

    • 3 Akira October 10, 2011 at 5:55 pm

      This might sound a little convoluted, but the Game State doesn’t recognize whether the Special Summon actually happens. It does however recognize that you had played an effect that includes a Special Summon.

      In other words, what matters is whether an action that Special Summon was performed, not the result of said performance.

      Additionally, here are some official TCG rulings that mirrors the OCG rulings: Pot of Duality vs. Special Summons – Pojo Forum

  3. 5 Koga the Thief October 11, 2011 at 3:22 am

    I was wondering if you had any more information on how the ruling at the WC2011 went, because observing it from your post summoning Hyperion would clearly disable POD. Would this be indicative of a change in the ruling itself or a possible 1-time judge discretionary error?

  4. 7 palo December 12, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    Por fin alguien que explica bien este reglamento …..buena man thank you

  5. 8 Zabo June 15, 2012 at 11:42 am

    In the game yugioh wc 2011 if say venus effect was negated by veiler/chalice/skilldrain and the likes, the game still allows you to activate pot of duality. Was the ruling for pot of duality changed regarding the negation of a monster effect that special summon and still having the ability to activate pod?


Comments are currently closed.



Blog Stats

  • 210,786 hits