Revisiting Mind Crush

With Mind Crush back at two, and more popular than before, it is inevitable that Mind Crush would become a common problem for judges.

Following up on an old post about Mind Crush, a new problem arises when it comes down to your opponent having to reveal their hand – how long should the duration of the reveal be?

OCG Ruling

Q:宣言したカードを持っているかどうかの確認をジャッジに行ってもらうことは可能ですか?
A:いいえ、無いことが明確な場合を除き相手プレイヤーに手札を全て公開し確認を行う必要があります。(11/08/18)

Q: Can a Judge verify for the presence of the declared card?
A: No, when the presence of the declared card is unclear, the opponent is required to make all his hand public for verification. (18th August 2011)

Source: 《マインドクラッシュ》 -遊戯王カードWiki

The significance of this ruling is the usage of the words 全て公開し and 手札を確認.

全て公開し – The literal translation of this phrase reads “to make all public”, meaning that the cards are to be made public knowledge.

手札を確認 – The literal translation of this phrase reads “verification of hand”. “確認” is an official term for verification; revealing is implied. This term can be found on cards like Trap Dustshoot and Crush Card Virus.

Conclusion
If the maximum legally allowed number of copies of the declared card cannot be verified as public knowledge, your opponent is required to reveal his hand for you to verify (a judge may not verify in place of you). The duration of the reveal should be similar to Trap Dustshoot and Crush Card Virus – enough to recognize each card.

Advertisements

7 Responses to “Revisiting Mind Crush”


  1. 1 Jair Jaramillo (@JairJy) October 7, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    With Mind Crush returning at 2 and the popularity of Pod of Duality I have been seen many duelist “chaining” Mind Crush just after the resolution of Duality, thinking that they have some kind of priority to activate it >D

    • 2 Akira October 7, 2011 at 11:43 pm

      They do have priority to do that.

      At the end of every chain resolution, priority is passed between the players, and only Speed 2 and above cards can be played during this window. This is similar to the priority passing during a Phase change.

      • 3 MiZaH October 8, 2011 at 7:26 am

        don´t summon and suck my mystical shine balls the priority pass to other player only later of an action of the turn player or the end of each phase of the game you can´t chain to resolution of cards

  2. 4 Saikon October 8, 2011 at 11:48 am

    It’s obviously not a chain. It’s just that you activate it after it has resolved.

    • 5 Jair Jaramillo (@JairJy) October 8, 2011 at 12:23 pm

      No you can’t, because the opponent player doesn’t have priority after Duality’s resolution.

      Is the main phase of your turn. Is your turn, so you have priority, your opponent can’t play any card or effect except for Trigger Effects. If you play Duality, you are activating it first and you must pass priority to the opponent so he/she can play a card or effect. At this time, the opponent can play Mind Crush, but Duality hasn’t been resolved, so you haven’t been picked and chosen any card.

      If the opponent decides to not activate any card in response to Duality’s activation, then he/she pass priority to you. You don’t chose to activate any card either so the chain starts to resolve. Duality resolves, so you reveal the cards and pick one (let’s say Torrential). At this time, the opponent doesn’t have priority so he/she can’t play Mind Crush. He/She must wait until you pass priority, so you can set Torrential before your opponent can play Mind Crush.

      In other case, your opponent can play Drastic Drop Off to discard any card you draw or search (with Duality for example).

      • 6 Akira October 8, 2011 at 2:05 pm

        Prior to 2009, what you had said is correct.

        However the rulings have been updated to include a “Post-Resolution Window”. As mentioned before, it is similar to the priority passing during a Phase change.


  1. 1 Is Mind Crush overrated? « Duel like an idol Trackback on October 7, 2011 at 11:03 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Blog Stats

  • 210,786 hits