Post-Resolution Window

Despite being around since 2009, “Post-Resolution Window” is still a relatively new concept to most players due to a lack of proper documentation.

Learning about and using the “Post-Resolution Window” will make a significance difference between a win and a lose, especially when playing with cards such as “Mind Crush” and “D.D. Crow”.

Post-Resolution Window
At the end of every chain resolution, the Turn Player will retain Priority to activate a Spell Speed 2 or higher effect, before passing priority to his opponent. This small window of timing is unofficially coined as a “Post-Resolution Window”.
It is similar to the Priority passing at the end of every Phase.

Yu-Gi-Oh! OCG Rules & FAQ Official Database (Japanese)

Q.何らかのカードの効果によってカードを手札に加えたタイミングにて、ターンプレイヤーは、スペルスピード2以上のクイックエフェクトを発動する事ができますが、「聖なる魔術師」等の効果によって、通常魔法カードを手札に加えた時、その通常魔法カードをすぐに発動する事はできますか?
また、「増援」の効果によって、モンスターカードを手札に加えたタイミングにて、手札に加えたモンスターをすぐ召喚する事はできますか?

もし、通常魔法の発動や召喚をすぐに行えない場合、ターンプレイヤーは、相手プレイヤーへ、スペルスピード2以上のカードや効果の発動があるかどうかを、確認する必要はありますか?

A.「聖なる魔術師」や「増援」の効果によって、カードを手札に加えたタイミングにて、ターンのプレイヤーは続けて通常魔法の発動や、モンスターの召喚を行う事はできません。

カードを手札に加えたタイミングにおいて、ターンプレイヤーがスペルスピード2以上のクイックエフェクトを発動せず、一時的に優先権を放棄した後に、相手プレイヤーが優先権を放棄した場合、ターンプレイヤーは、通常魔法カードの発動や、モンスターの召喚などを行う事ができます。

Q: During the timing that a card has been added to hand by a card effect, as the Turn Player, while Spell Speed 2 Quick Effects can be activated, when a Normal Spell card is added to hand through the effect of “Magician of Faith”, etc, can that Normal Spell card be activated immediately?
Also, during the timing that a Monster card is added to hand through the effect of “Reinforcement of the Army”, etc, can that monster which was added to hand be summoned immediately?

If the activation of a Normal Spell card and Summon of a monster cannot be performed immediately, is it necessary to confirm whether the Turn Player and Opponent Player are activating a card or effect of Spell Speed 2 and above?

A: During the timing that a card is added to hand through the effect of “Magician of Faith” or “Reinforcement of the Army”, the Turn Player cannot continue with a Normal Spell card activation or a Monster summon.

During the timing that a card is added to hand, after the Turn Player passes his Priority without activating a Quick Effect of Spell Speed 2 and above, and when the Opponent Player passes Priority as well, then can the activation of a Normal Spell card and the Summon of a monster be performed.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q.「終末の騎士」や「おろかな埋葬」の効果によって、デッキから「D-HERO ディアボリックガイ」を墓地へ送ったタイミングにおいて、墓地へ送った「D-HERO ディアボリックガイ」の効果を、すぐに発動する事はできますか?

それとも、デッキから墓地へ送ったタイミングにて「D-HERO ディアボリックガイ」の効果を発動するよりも先に、相手プレイヤーは、スペルスピード2となる「D.D.クロウ」の効果を発動する事ができますか?

A.「終末の騎士」等の効果処理により、「D-HERO ディアボリックガイ 」を墓地へ送ったタイミングにて、ターンプレイヤーは、続けて起動効果である「D-HERO ディアボリックガイ」の効果を発動する事ができません。
よって、ターンプレイヤーである自分がスペルスピード2以上のクイックエフェクト等を発動せず、一時的に優先権を放棄する場合、「D-HERO ディアボリックガイ」の効果を発動するよりも先に、相手プレイヤーは「D.D.クロウ」等の効果を発動する事ができます。

Q: During the timing that “Destiny HERO – Malicious” is sent to the graveyard through effects like “Armageddon Knight” or “Foolish Burial”, can the effect of “Destiny HERO – Malicious” that was sent to the graveyard be activated immediately?

Or, during the timing that “Destiny HERO – Malicious” is sent to the graveyard, before it can be activated, can the Opponent Player activate the effect of “D.D. Crow” of Spell Speed 2?

A: After the resolution of effects such as “Armageddon Knight”, etc, during the timing that “Destiny HERO – Malicious” is sent to the graveyard, the Turn Player cannot continue with the activation of the effect of “Destiny HERO – Malicious” immediately.
Therefore, when the Turn Player passes his Priority without activating a Quick Effect of Spell Speed 2 and above, before the effect of “Destiny HERO – Malicious” can be activated, the Opponent Player can activate effects such as “D.D. Crow”, etc.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Conclusion
After the resolution of a Chain, there is a “Post-Resolution Window” where the Priority is passed from the Turn Player to the Opponent Player. During this “Post-Resolution Window”, only cards and effects of Spell Speed 2 and above can be activated.

A popular application of said “Post-Resolution Window” is the activation of “Mind Crush” right after the resolution of “Reinforcement of the Army” or “Pot of Duality”.

Advertisements

2 Responses to “Post-Resolution Window”


  1. 1 chinhodado April 20, 2012 at 6:56 am

    Hi, can I use this post on yugioh.wikia.com? Thank you!


Comments are currently closed.



Blog Stats

  • 211,260 hits