- The effect that destroys 1 monster on opponent’s field, is a targeting effect.
- Even if released as a cost, the effect will be activated.
- If “Hieratic Dragon of Nebthet” is released by a Ritual Spell effect, etc., the effect will also be activated.
Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール＆ＦＡＱ 公式データベース （日本語版）
Q: To Special Summon by its own effect, can a face-down Position “Heratic” be released?
A: Yes, it can. (24th February 2012)
Q: What is the classification of the effect “You can Special Summon this card (from your hand) by Tributing 1 “Hieratic” monster you control”?
A: It has no particular classification for the effect (Summon Rule Effect). (28th March 2012)
Q: Is it a cost to release for the effect “You can Tribute 1 other “Hieratic” monster you control or in your hand to target 1 monster your opponent controls; destroy it”?
Also, does the destruction effect targets?
A: Releasing a “Hieratic” monster is a cost to activate , and the effect is a targeting effect. (28th March 2012)