Number 39: Utopia

Rulings from Yu-Gi-Oh! OCG Rule & FAQ Official Database and Yu-Gi-Oh! Card Wiki.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  • The effect that negates an attack, is a Trigger effect that activates during Attack Declaration.
  • Both effects, are not targeting effects.
  • Detaching a Xyz Material is a cost to activate the effect that negates an attack.
  • During Attack Declaration when opponent activates “Dimensional Prison”, etc., the effect that negates an attack cannot be chained to the activation.
  • The self-destruct effect is a Trigger effect, it creates a Chain Link.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q.
If “Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon” and “Number 39: Utopia” battles, can the effect of either be activated?

A.
If “Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon” and “Number 39: Utopia” battles, because the attack negation effect of “Number 39: Utopia” must be first activated during the Attack Declaration, if the effect of “Number 39: Utopia” is activated, the effect activation of “Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon” can be chained to the effect of “Number 39: Utopia”.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q.
When “Number 39: Utopia” with no Xyz Materials is attacked by an opponent’s monster, can the effect that negates an opponent’s monster attack of “Number 39: Utopia” be activated?
Also, when the effect of “Number 39: Utopia” is activated, can the Xyz Materials of “Number 19: Freezerdon” be substituted instead?

A.
When “Number 39: Utopia” with no Xyz Materials is attacked by an opponent’s monster, the attack negation effect of “Number 39: Utopia” can be activated by detaching an Xyz Material from “Number 19: Freezerdon” instead.

Also, because the “self-destruct” effect of “Number 39: Utopia” with no Xyz Materials will activate, the self-destruct effect will activate in Chain 1, an Xyz Material from “Number 19: Freezerdon” will be detached as cost in Chain 2, and the effect that negates an opponent’s monster attack can be activated.

Therefore, the attack of an opponent’s monster can be negated, but “Number 39: Utopia” will still be destroyed by its own effect.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q.
If the self-destruct effect of “Number 39: Utopia” is activated and negated by the effects of “Light and Darkness Dragon” or “Justice Bringer”, etc., will the self-destruct effect of “Number 39: Utopia” be re-activated?

A.
If the effect of “Number 39: Utopia” is activated when selected as an attack target, and negated by the effects of “Light and Darkness Dragon”, etc., in that moment during the battle, the same effect will not be re-activated.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q: How is the “39” in the name pronounced?
A: It is pronounced as “San Ju Kyu” (Thirty-nine). (19th March 2011)

Q: Is detaching an Xyz Material a cost for the attack negation effect?
A: Yes, it is a cost. (19th March 2011)

Q: Against opponent’s “Dimensional Prison”, can this effect be chained to stop the attack?
A: No, because this effect is a Trigger Effect of Spell Speed 1, its activation cannot be chained to “Dimensional Prison”. (18th July 2011)

Q: When the effect is activated during the attack declaration of my own monster, can opponent chain with the activation of“Dimensional Prison”? In that case, is this card banished?
A: It can be activated, resolving backwards, the monster will be banished before the attack is negated. (19th March 2011)

Q: Opponent declares an attack on this card. While retaining his priority, opponent activates “Mystical Space Typhoon”, etc. In this case, can the Spell Speed 1 effect of this card be activated?
A: In that case, even if opponent is the turn player, the activation of this card’s attack negation effect needs to be confirmed, hence without confirmation, opponent cannot activate the Spell Speed 2 effect of “Mystical Space Typhoon” as Chain 1. (20th March 2011)

Q: An attack is declared with “Vylon Sigma”. While retaining his priority, opponent activates the effect of “Vylon Sigma”. In this case, can the Spell Speed 1 effect of this card be activated? Also, if it can, will the effect of “Vylon Sigma” be applied?
A: Yes, it can be activated, even if the attack of “Vylon Sigma” is negated with the effect of this card, the effect of “Vylon Sigma” is still applied. (23rd March 2011)

Q: Does the attack negation effect targets the attacking monster?
A: No, it does not target. (19th March 2011)

Q: If self-destructed, does a replay occurs?
A: yes, it occurs. (19th March 2011)

Q: On opponent’s field is a copy of this card with no Xyz Materials, and another of this card with Xyz Materials. An attack is declared on the one with no Xyz Materials, and the attack is negated by the one with Xyz Materials. In this case, does the one with no Xyz Materials self-destructs?
A: Yes, in that case it self-destructs. (30th March 2011)

Q: If this card is selected as an attack target, and chained to the self-destruct effect, this card changed to face-down Position, is the self-destruct effect applied?
A: Yes, in that case it self-destructs. (4th July 2011)

Q: The self-destruct effect, will it be negated by “Skill Drain”?
A: Yes, the self-destruct effect is a Trigger effect so it will be negated. (19th March 2011)

Q: If this card attacks “Krebons”, how is it resolved?
A: As the Turn Player, the effect of this card can be activated first.
Chained to that effect, opponent can activate the effect of “Krebons”. (12th April 2011)

Q: When this card with no Xyz Materials is selected as an attack target, this card will self-destruct, at this moment can the Xyz Materials of “Number 19: Freezerdon” be substituted to activate the attack negation effect of this card?
A: Yes, in this case, chained to the Mandatory self-destruct Trigger effect of this card, the optional attack negation effect of this card can be activated, but this card is still destroyed after the attack is negated. (26th October 2011)

Source: 遊戯王カードWiki

Advertisements

1 Response to “Number 39: Utopia”



  1. 1 Rulings for Asian Championship 2012 « Duelist Codex Trackback on April 14, 2012 at 2:43 am
Comments are currently closed.



Blog Stats

  • 210,786 hits