Number 61: Volcasaurus

Rulings from Yu-Gi-Oh! OCG Rule & FAQ Official Database and Yu-Gi-Oh! Card Wiki.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  • This effect targets 1 monster in face-up Position on your opponent’s field.
  • Detaching an Xyz Material is a cost to activate the effect.
  • The effect resolution of the targeted monster’s destruction, and the effect resolution of the damage, is treated as simultaneous.
  • If this card was changed to face-down Position after effect activation, and then changed to face-up Position in the same turn, this card can attack your opponent directly in the turn that the effect was activated.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q.
The effect “destroy the target, then inflict damage to your opponent equal to that monster’s original ATK” of “Number 61: Volcasaurus” can select which of the following monsters as a target?

A monster with original ATK of 0
A monster with original ATK of ?
Monster Token
“Embodiment of Apophis”, etc.

A.
The effect of “Number 61: Volcasaurus” can select a monster with original ATK of 0, a monster with original ATK of ?, Monster Token, “Embodiment of Apophis”, etc., as a target.
Also, if that monster is selected, the effect will resolve as follows:
In the case of a monster with original ATK of 0 or a monster with original ATK of ?, the targeted monster is destroyed, and no damage is dealt to opponent.
In the case of a Monster Token, damage is dealt according to the value listed on the card.
However, in the case of “Gorz the Emissary of Darkness Token” or “Malus Token”, because the original ATK of “?” is treated as 0, no damage is dealt.
In the case of “Embodiment of Apophis”, because the original ATK is treated as 1600, opponent is dealt 1600 points of damage.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q.
After the effect activation of “Number 61: Volcasaurus”, if “Skill Drain” is activated, can “Number 61: Volcasaurus” perform a direct attack?

Also, when the effect of “Skill Drain” is applied, can “Number 61: Volcasaurus” that has activated its effect perform a direct attack?

A.
After the effect activation of “Number 61: Volcasaurus”, if “Skill Drain” is activated, because “Number 61: Volcasaurus” has activated its effect, it cannot perform a direct attack on the opponent.

Also, if the effect of “Number 61: Volcasaurus” is activated when the effect of “Skill Drain” is applied, “Number 61: Volcasaurus” cannot perform a direct attack on the opponent.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q.
When the effect “destroy the target, then inflict damage to your opponent equal to that monster’s original ATK” of “Number 61: Volcasaurus” is resolving, if the targeted monster is in face-down Position, will it be destroyed?

Also, if the monster targeted by the effect of “Number 61: Volcasaurus” is no longer on the field during effect resolution, will the effect that destroys and deals damage to opponent’s life point be applied?

A.
During the effect resolution of “Number 61: Volcasaurus”, if the targeted monster is in face-down Position, that face-down Position monster is destroyed, and its original ATK is dealt as damage.
Also, if the targeted monster is no longer on the field, because the targeted monster is not destroyed, the damage dealing effect is not performed during effect resolution afterwards.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q: Are the destruction resolution and the damage dealing resolution treated to be simultaneous?
A: Yes, they are performed simultaneously. (15th October 2011)

Q: If the targeted monster is in face-down Position during effect resolution, is the destruction and damage dealing effect applied?
A: Yes, the destruction effect is applied, and the damage dealing effect is applied. (15th October 2011)

Q: Can the effect of this card target a monster with original ATK of 0?
A: Yes, it can be targeted for destruction. (15th October 2011)

Q: If the control of the targeted opponent’s monster is changed to me during effect resolution, is that monster destroyed?
A: No, it is not destroyed. (16th October 2011)

Q: If the targeted monster cannot be destroyed, can the damage still be dealt?
A: No, it cannot. (19th October 2011)

Q: If the effect of this card destroys “Embodiment of Apophis”, is damage dealt?
A: Yes, if “Embodiment of Apophis” is targeted and destroyed the effect of “Number 61: Volcasaurus”, because the original ATK is treated as 1600, 1600 points of damage is dealt. (16th October 2011)

Q: If the effect of this card destroys “Gorz the Emissary of Darkness Token”, is damage dealt?
A: No, if “Gorz the Emissary of Darkness Token” is targeted and destroyed the effect of “Number 61: Volcasaurus”, because the original ATK is treated as “?”, no damage is dealt. (16th October 2011)

Q: If the effect of this card destroys “Evil Token”, is damage dealt?
A: Yes, if “Evil Token” is targeted and destroyed the effect of “Number 61: Volcasaurus”, because the original ATK is treated as 2500, 2500 points of damage is dealt. (16th October 2011)

Q: If the effect of this card destroys “Tyranno Infinity”, is damage dealt?
A: Yes, if “Tyranno Infinity” is targeted and destroyed the effect of “Number 61: Volcasaurus”, because the original ATK is treated as “?”, no damage is dealt. (16th October 2011)

Q: While opponent has lesser life points than me, if “Number 19: Freezerdon” equipped with “Unstable Evolution” is destroyed by the effect, how much damage is dealt to the opponent?
A: The original ATK is the numerical value written on the card that was destroyed. (29th February 2012)

Source: 遊戯王カードWiki

Advertisements

1 Response to “Number 61: Volcasaurus”



  1. 1 Rulings for Asian Championship 2012 « Duelist Codex Trackback on April 14, 2012 at 2:41 am
Comments are currently closed.



Blog Stats

  • 211,260 hits