Wind-Up Zenmaines

Rulings from Yu-Gi-Oh! OCG Rule & FAQ Official Database and Yu-Gi-Oh! Card Wiki.

With contributions from d3stin3d.

 
 
 
 
 

  • The effect “If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card instead”, does not create a Chain Link.
  • If this card is destroyed during the Damage Step by battle or a card effect, the effect that substitutes destruction with an Xyz Material can be activated.
  • The effects that activates at the End Phase, targets 1 card on the field.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q.
While “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is being destroyed, after the “If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card instead” effect is applied, by the effect of “Enemy Controller”, etc., if control of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is changed to opponent’s field, which player will activate the effect of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” during the End Phase?

A.
While “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is being destroyed, after the “If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card instead” effect is applied, by the effect of “Enemy Controller”, etc., if control of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is changed to opponent’s field, the effect of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” can be activated by the opponent who gained control of it.

Also, before the effect of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” activates on opponent’s field, the effect of “Enemy Controller” can be resolved first to return control of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” to its original owner.
In that case, after control of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is returned to my field, I can activate the effect “Target 1 card on the field; destroy it” of “Wind-Up Zenmaines”.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q.
The effect “If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card instead” of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is applied, while the effect of “Number 19: Freezerdon” applied on the field, can the Xyz Material substitution effect of “Number 19: Freezerdon” be activated?

A.
The effect “If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card instead” of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is applied, the Xyz Material substitution effect of “Number 19: Freezerdon” cannot be activated?

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q.
After the effect “If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card instead” of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is applied, if “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is changed to face-down Position by the effect of “Book of Moon”, etc., during the End Phase, can the effect “Target 1 card on the field; destroy it” be activated?

Also, during the resolution of the effect “if this effect was used this turn: Target 1 card on the field; destroy it” of “Wind-Up Zenmaines”, if “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is changed to face-down Position, is the effect still applied?

A.
After the effect “If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card instead” of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is applied, before the End Phase, if “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is in face-down Position, the effect “Target 1 card on the field; destroy it” is not activated.
Also, if the “Wind-Up Zenmaines” in face-down Position is changed to face-up Position afterwards, the effect cannot be activated.

Also, during the resolution of the effect “if this effect was used this turn: Target 1 card on the field; destroy it” of “Wind-Up Zenmaines”, if “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is changed to face-down Position, the effect that destroys the targeted card is still applied.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q.
After the effect “If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card instead” of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is applied, if “Wind-Up Zenmaines” itself is sent to the Graveyard or returned to the Extra deck, during the End Phase, can the effect “Target 1 card on the field; destroy it” be activated?

Also, during the resolution of the effect “if this effect was used this turn: Target 1 card on the field; destroy it” of “Wind-Up Zenmaines”, if “Wind-Up Zenmaines” itself is destroyed or leaves the field, is the effect still applied?

A.
After the effect “If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card instead” of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is applied, if “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is not in face-up Position on the field, the effect “Target 1 card on the field; destroy it” cannot be activated.

Also, during the resolution of the effect “if this effect was used this turn: Target 1 card on the field; destroy it” of “Wind-Up Zenmaines”, if “Wind-Up Zenmaines” itself leaves the field, the effect is still applied.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q.
The effect “If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card instead” of “Wind-Up Zenmaines”, can it be applied multiple times 1 turn?

Also, if the Xyz Material substitution of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” occurred twice in 1 turn, is the “Once per turn, during the End Phase, if this effect was used this turn: Target 1 card on the field; destroy it” effect be activated twice?

A.
The effect “If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card instead” of “Wind-Up Zenmaines”, can be applied multiple times 1 turn.

Also, if the effect “If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card instead” of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” is applied twice in 1 turn, the effect is only activated once during the End Phase.

Source: 遊戯王OCG ルール&FAQ 公式データベース (日本語版)

Q:How are the effects of this card classified?
A: The effect that prevents the destruction of this card by removing an Xyz Material is considered a Continuous effect.
The effect that destroys a card on the field during the End Phase is considered trigger effect. (8th January 2012)

Q: Can you activate the destruction effect during End Phase if this card is not in face-up Position on the field?
A: No, you cannot. (7th January 2012)

Q: During the End Phase, in the same turn when the destruction of this card is prevent twice by removing 2 Xyz Materials, if the effect of destroying a card on the field activated only once?
A: Yes, in this case it is activated once only. (7th January 2012)

Q: When the destruction of this card is prevented by removing an Xyz Material, following which this card is flipped face-down and face-up again, during the End Phase, is the effect of destroying a card on the field activated?
A: No, it is not activated. (8th January 2012)

Q: When the destruction of this card is prevented by removing an Xyz Material, following which this card is removed by “Interdimensional Matter Transporter”, during the End Phase when this card returns to the field, is the effect of destroying a card on the field activated?
A: No, it is not activated. (8th January 2012)

Q: When the destruction of this card on opponent’s field is prevented by removing an Xyz Material, following which this card’s control is changed by “Enemy Controller”, during the End Phase, before returning the control of this card, can I choose to activate the effect that destroys a card on the field?
A: Yes, you can choose whether to return the control of this card, or to activate the effect of destroying a card on the field first. If you choose to return the control first, your opponent will get to activate the effect to destroy a card on field. (16th January 2012)

Source: 遊戯王カードWiki

Advertisements

2 Responses to “Wind-Up Zenmaines”


  1. 1 Terry March 20, 2013 at 11:46 am

    Can this effect be used on the end phase of your opponents turn? The one to destroy a card.


  1. 1 Rulings for Asian Championship 2012 « Duelist Codex Trackback on April 14, 2012 at 2:41 am
Comments are currently closed.



Blog Stats

  • 210,786 hits