Activation Conditions

With Chain Burn being played more frequently in the local tournament scene, many often experience confusion from the rather misleading text of certain Chain Burn cards.

Here is a short article explaining the concept of Activation Conditions, and hopefully would shed some light on why duo copies of cards like “Accumulated Fortune” or “Chain Strike” can be activated within the same Chain Block.

Definition
Activation of a Spell or Trap Card is defined as playing it from your hand to the Spell & Trap Card Zone or playing it from the set position on the field by flipping it face-up.

Activation Conditions are the specific conditions that a card has to meet before it can be activated. For example, “Mirror Force” has an activation condition of “When an opponent’s monster declares an attack”.

As such, as long as the Activation Conditions of a card are met, the card can be activated. Once the card has been activated, if the Activation Conditions are suddenly no longer met, the card will still resolved. For example, “ZERO-MAX” has the Activation Condition of “Activate only if you have no cards in your hand”. This means that after the Activation of “ZERO-MAX”, if you suddenly gained some cards in your hand (through the effect of your opponent’s “The Gift of Greed”) before the resolution of “ZERO-MAX”, the effect “ZERO-MAX” will still resolve successfully.

However, do note that Activation Conditions is different from Targeting Requirements. Targeting Requirements need the target to be legal during both Activation and Resolution. For example, “Nobleman of Crossout” has a Targeting Requirement of “Target 1 face-down monster on the field”. If the targeted monster is no longer face-down on the field during resolution, the effect of “Nobleman of Crossout” disappears.

Explanation
For example, we have a typical Chain Block of the following:
Chain 1: Vase of Greed
Chain 2: Legacy of Yata-Garasu
Chain 3: Reckless Greed
Chain 4: Accumulated Fortune
Chain 5: Accumulated Fortune

The Activation Conditions of “Accumulated Fortune” are “Activate only as Chain Link 4 or higher” and “You cannot activate this card if multiple cards/effects with the same name are in that chain”.

The Activation of “Accumulated Fortune” on Chain 4 is obviously a legal move as both conditions are met.

The Activation of “Accumulated Fortune” on Chain 5 though, is slightly dubious. The first Activation Condition is obviously met, but what about the second Activation Condition?

The answer is yes, the second Activation Condition is fulfilled as well. The second Activation Condition states that “You cannot activate this card if multiple cards/effects with the same name are in that chain”. Before the Activation of “Accumulated Fortune” on Chain 5, the Chain Block consist of only the following:

Chain 1: Vase of Greed
Chain 2: Legacy of Yata-Garasu
Chain 3: Reckless Greed
Chain 4: Accumulated Fortune

Chain 1, 2, 3 & 4 contains 4 cards/effects with different names. As such, the Activation Conditions for the second “Accumulated Fortune” is met, and hence it can be activated on Chain 5. Although once the second “Accumulated Fortune” is activated, and the Activation Conditions are no longer met, both “Accumulated Fortune” will still resolve successfully as defined in the rulings for Activation Conditions.

However, a third “Accumulated Fortune” cannot be activated on Chain 6 as the Game State detects 2 cards with the same name on Chain 4 & 5.

The same example can be repeated by replacing both copies of “Accumulated Fortune” on Chain 4 & 5 with two copies of “Chain Strike”. The result is still a legal move.

A similar application of the Activation Conditions can be seen on “Into the Void”. If I have only three cards in my hand, and one of them is “Into the Void”, that “Into the Void” can still be activated because the Activation Condition is fulfilled.

Conclusion
The Game State is checked for the Activation Conditions before the card is actually played from your hand or from the set position on the field. Once the card is activated, it does not matter that the Game State not longer fulfills the Activation Conditions before the resolution.

Do note the difference between Activation Conditions and Targeting Requirements.

Under the TCG’s problem solving text, Activation Conditions would come before the colon (:), while Targeting Requirements would be just before the semi-colon (;).

Activation Conditions : Activation Costs/Targeting Requirements ; Effects

Advertisements

Blog Stats

  • 211,260 hits