Monster Effects and Activation in the Deck

The Transmigration Prophecy

This article touches on a very obscure ruling and game mechanic – the interaction between monsters effects and their activation in the deck.

 
 
 
 
 

Definition
Before moving further, it is critical to understand that monsters effects activates at the point when the effect is activated, but before the cost is paid.

To illustrate, here is a list of the points of activation of monsters effects and the respective examples:

  • Activates in the Hand: “Honest”, “Effect Veiler”, “Maxx “C””
  • Activates on the Field: “Cardcar D”, “Rescue Rabbit”, “Tour Guide From the Underworld”
  • Activates in the Graveyard: “Sangan”, “Mystic Tomato”, “Tour Bus From the Underworld”
  • Activates in the Banished Zone: “Necroface”, “D.D. Survivor”, “D.D. Scout Plane”

As such, effects like “Reborn Tengu” that triggers upon leaving the field activates at the point after it has left the field.
For example:

  • If “Reborn Tengu” was returned to the Hand by “Compulsory Evacuation Device”, then it activates in the Hand.
  • If “Reborn Tengu” was destroyed by “Mirror Force”, then it activates in the Graveyard.
  • If “Reborn Tengu” was banished by “Dimensional Prison”, then it activates in the Banished Zone.

However, if “Reborn Tengu” was returned to the Deck by “Phoenix Wing Wind Blast”, its effect does not activate.

Question
If a face-up “Reborn Tengu” is returned to the Deck by the effect of “Phoenix Wing Wind Blast”, does its effect activate?
Also, if a face-down “Reborn Tengu” is returned to the Deck by the effect of “Phoenix Wing Wind Blast”, does its effect activate?

Answer
If a face-up “Reborn Tengu” is returned to the Deck by the effect of “Phoenix Wing Wind Blast”, its effect does not activate.
Also, if a face-down “Reborn Tengu” is returned to the Deck by the effect of “Phoenix Wing Wind Blast”, its effect does not activate

Source: Konami OCG Card Database
Translation from: Yu-Gi-Oh! Wikia

And this brings us to the main concept of this article.

Concept

  • Monster effects cannot be activated in the deck.

As revealed by the “Reborn Tengu” example, although “Reborn Tengu” has met its trigger condition, the actual mechanic that is preventing it from activating is the obscure ruling of monster effects being unable to activate while in the deck.

A recently updated ruling from Yu-Gi-Oh! Wiki supports this concept as well:

Q: When “Sangan” has been released to activate “Crush Card Virus”, and the “Sangan” that was sent to the graveyard was returned to the deck by a chained “The Transmigration Prophecy”, after resolving the chain, can the effect of “Sangan” be activated?

A: No, it cannot be activated. (26th September 2012)

Source: Yu-Gi-Oh! Wiki

Extra Deck
The Deck is not to be confused with the Extra Deck. Monster effects are still able to be activated in the Extra Deck.

This can be seen from “Elemental HERO Absolute Zero”:

Question
When “Elemental Hero Absolute Zero” is removed from play or returns to the Extra Deck from the field, does its effect activate?

Answer
If a face-up “Elemental Hero Absolute Zero” is removed from play from the field, its effect will activate after it is removed from play.
If it is returned to the Extra Deck, its effect will activate after it is returned to the Extra Deck.

Source: Konami OCG Card Database
Translation from: Yu-Gi-Oh! Wikia

Conclusion
Monster effects cannot be activated in the deck, unless stated by the card.

Currently the only known exclusion to the above mechanic is “Serpentine Princess”.

Advertisements

2 Responses to “Monster Effects and Activation in the Deck”


  1. 1 Gerson January 13, 2014 at 7:39 am

    This is just what i was wondering, so compulsory escape device would be veiler chained to any effect monster?

    • 2 Akira January 13, 2014 at 10:44 pm

      You have misunderstood the article.

      This only applies to monster effects that triggers when they leave the field or when they are sent to the graveyard. For said trigger effect to be placed on the chain, the monsters themselves have to remain in the graveyard or the banished zone.

      This is not the same as the Effect Veiler example as the effect is already on the chain before the monster is sent back to the deck.


Comments are currently closed.



Blog Stats

  • 211,086 hits